Monday, 7 July 2014

Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

This blog is done.

I will still be posting music, but only on Tumblr now. Why? Tumblr makes posting music a lot easier and I do not have a lot of time due to job pressures

You can follow me at

Tuesday, 3 June 2014

New Music: Parquet Courts- Black And White

I just finished listening to Parquet Courts new album Sunbathing Animal, and I am a little bit surprised. I am not surprised that is it good- and it is very good- but surprised at the length of the LP. I thought it would be like a lot of similar garage artists of their ilk, and it would be a record that is short and sweet. In actual fact, their new record clocks in at over 50 minutes and contains a couple of garage psych jams that push past 6 minutes. The single "Black and White" is the best track off the new album, and its mixture of Black Lips style garage rock blended with Pavement slacker-dom pretty well sums up the whole  record. Watch the video for the song below:

New Music: A Sunny Day In Glasgow- Bye Bye Big Ocean (The End)

Only a could of weeks now until Philadelphia's A Sunny Day in Glasgow drop their new album Sea When Absent, and to prepare us for it the band has released the wonderful track titled "Bye Bye Big Ocean (The End)". This song might be the most anthemic thing they have ever released, thanks in part to the beautiful voice of singer Jen Goma (She is on a role, having contributed her voice to a couple of songs on The Pains of Being Pure At Heart's new album Day of Abandon). That being said, the band's experimental shoegaze is still prevalent, and the track features a very chaotic blend of synths and reverb. Check it below:

Sea When Absent is out June 24th via Lefse.

Monday, 2 June 2014

New Music: Merchandise- Little Killer

Florida post punk band Merchandise are back with a new single, and by the sounds of it, they are anxious to show off the new wave side of their band, If you are familiar with these guys, you know a lot of their songs clock in at over six minutes. Not on their new single "Little Killer", however, as the poppy, 80's sounding tune is just over three minutes long. Maybe their new new wave sound is the influence of producer Gareth Jones, who worked with some of that era's biggest standouts including Depeche Mode, Wire, and Erasure. Check out the music video for the track below, which features the band reenacting that era and doing their best impersonation of the Bunnymen or the Mary Chain.

"Little Killer" is taken from Merchandise's new album After The End, which is out August 25th via 4AD.

Monday, 19 May 2014

Five Star Songs; The Primitives- Thru The Flowers

Beautiful, sunny and warm, holiday Monday here in Toronto, and what better way to cap off this day than to play some 80's indie pop from The Primitives. The Coventry band were best known for their hit song "Crash" here in North America, but they had a string of really great singles throughout the 80's in the UK. "Thru the Flowers" was the first single they ever released in 1986 on Lazy Records, however just before they signed with RCA records, they re-released a more polished single of the song, which also appeared on their 1988 LP Lovely. Check it out below, especially if you are into bands like Veronica Falls, Fear of Men or The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart.

The Primitives are still together and touring. Let's hope they come back to North America in the near future.

Wednesday, 14 May 2014

New Music: Sharon Van Etten: Every Time The Sun Comes Up + Your Love Is Killing Me

Is there a better female indie singer-songwriter hailing from North America right now than Sharon Van Etten? Other than Feist or Angel Olsen, I cannot think of any. And Feist is between albums right now, so that means Miss Van Etten is deservedly receiving a lot of attention. Just listen to "Every Time The Sun Comes Up" and "Your Love Is Killing Me", two truly majestic songs that are probably going to be on a lot of top 10 lists at the end of the year.

Both tracks are taken from her new album Are We There, out May 27th via Jagjaguwar.

New Music: Total Control- Expensive Dog

After featuring "Flesh War", the new song from Australian post punk band Total Control, I learned something that I never knew about the band. I found out their guitarist is Eddy Current (Mikey Young) from seminal Australian punk band Eddy Current Suppression Ring. ECSR are probably my favourite group to emanate from down under from the last few years.

Getting back to Total Control, these guys recently dropped a second single from their upcoming new album Typical System. The song is called "Expensive Dog" and it is guitar driven raucous track that wouldn't be out of place on an Eddy Current LP. Check it out below:

Typical System will be out June 24th via Iron Lung.