Wednesday, 20 February 2013

No Joy Release A Little Bit Of Happiness + Other New Music & News

Montreal indie gazing band No Joy seems to have done a 180 degree sound shift on this new track off of their forthcoming new album. There is still a hint of shoegaze, but they have traded in their wall of sound grunge for  much cleaner sounding dream pop- at least it sounds that way on their new track "Lunar Phobia".

The band were originally supposed to record their new LP, Wait To Pleasure, with the Raveonettes Sune Rose Wagner, but that never materialized and No Joy decided to work with Jorge Elbrecht (Chairlift). The result is a lot more keyboard and pianos, much cleaner production and an overall much more happier sounding group. At this rate they may have to change their name. Listen to "Lunar Phobia" below:

Wait To Pleasure is out April 23rd via Mexican Summer

No Joy- Lunar Phobia

Lots of new music, videos and news from the first few days of the week including:

French alt pop band Phoenix finally released a preview from their new album this week. "Entertainment" sees the band progress in to more anthemic territory as they try to equal the popularity of Coldplay and Mumford & Sons. Much better than those bands though. Listen below:

Phoenix will release Bankrupt on April 23rd via Glassnote.

Phoenix- Entertainment

Primal Scream finally made it official that they have recorded a new album after hinting about it for several weeks. Surprise!!! Kevin Shields does make a guest appearance, playing guitar on the lead single, "2013" Watch the creepy video for the track below:

The album is titled More Light and will be out in May.

Primal Scream- 2013

Young Galaxy have released a second track from their upcoming new album. Listen to "Fall For You" from Ultramarine which will be released on April 23rd.

Doldrums is streaming his new album, Lesser Evil, over at Pitchfork Advance. You can also download the song "Golden Calf" from the album below:

Listen to the title track, " Hit The Waves'',  from Swedish indie poppers The Mary Onettes new album. The LP will be out on March 12th.

Bat for Lashes has released a new video from her excellent The Haunted Man LP. Watch the Where The Wild Things inspired clip for "Lilies" below:

Bat For Lashes- Lilies

Jangle rockers DIIV keep on rolling and have put out a video for their Oshin track "Wait" which features a cast of indie girls, including 'it girl" Sky Ferreira. Watch the NSFW video below

DIIV- Wait

The Juno Awards nominations were announced yesterday and with it the usual parade of awful bands and singers. There are some bright spots amongst the deadwood, mostly in the Alternative and Electronic categories, including nods to Metric, Grimes, Purity Ring, Japandroids, Daphni and Crystal Castles. See the full list here:

Metric- Breathing Underwater

Jack White was named Record Store Day Ambassador. Watch a video of his acceptance over at the Record Store Day website and also read his diatribe about all things impersonal.

Jack White- Freedom at 21

Last week we told you about a new Music Festival happening in Toronto in the first week of July called The Toronto Urban Roots Festival. They have announced a few more artists that will take part including Belle & Sebastien, Neko Case, Flogging Molly and The Joel Plaskett Emergency. More acts will be annouced throughout February and March.

Belle & Sebastian- Another Sunny Day
Neko Case- Deep Red Bells

Robbie Furze has announced through his band's Facebook page that Milo Cordell has left The Big Pink. Cordell will leave to concentrate on his up and coming record label, Merok, while Robbie Furze has confirmed he will continue to work on the new Big Pink album.

The Big Pink- Crystal Visions

Finally, another week, another rock 'n roll death. This time the founding member, singer and bassist Kevin Ayers of the legendary 60's psychedelic band, The Soft Machine, has passed away. The singer died in his sleep last night at the age of 68.

Soft Machine- Moon In June

No comments:

Post a Comment